California Vehicle Code 12500 (a) prohibits driving in California without a valid driving license
You may violate California vehicle code 12500 (a); which mentions the fact of driving without a license, in several ways:
You never had a valid license of conduction or n issued under him.
You have driven with an expired or suspended license.
You have settled in California but have failed to obtain a valid state license.
You are an illegal immigrant and are therefore not eligible for a driver's license in the state of California.
If you simply forgot or your license at home, or do not have your license in your possession it or n at the time it was stopped, you may receive a subpoena or n for the infringement it or n of the C or vehicular say § 12951. To this tlso known as a fine called '' Fix it ". While you can submit the license to the prosecutor, at the time of his presence before the respective court, thenmay be a high probability that charge dismissed. [ one]
If a police officer gives you a citation for driving without a driver's license, under code 12500 (a), there will be a date to go to court, which will be mentioned in the citation. This charge may be filed as an offense or a misdemeanor. Usually, the code violation will be charged as a violation if you have never been cited before.
However, if this is not the first time an officer has cited you for driving without a valid license, then there is a greater chance that you will be charged with a misdemeanor for violation of Vehicle Code 12500. It may be that you or your attorney (if you hire one) must appear in court on the date to attend scheduled court - otherwise the judge will issue an arrest warrant.
 This probability may change if you have a previous history or if you received multiple citations during the traffic stop that was performed on you.
12500a vc - What are the penalties for driving without a license in California?
The bail that is charged for arrests under the order for violation of code 12500 (a) VC, can amount to up to $ 30,000. If the citation is presented as a violation, there will be no possibility of a jail penalty, but there may be a maximum charge of $ 250. However, if the citation for violation of the 12500 VC code is presented as a misdemeanor, there will be a maximum prison time of six months or a maximum fine of $ 1,000. Additionally, the respective court may seize your vehicle for up to thirty days, at YOUR expense.
If you are convicted of a misdemeanor, this will appear on your criminal record. A good way to avoid this result is by consulting a California criminal lawyer, who can intervene to reduce the penalties for infraction or dismiss the charges against you.
12500a vc - What kind of defenses can I get for driving without a license?
Unlike other areas of the law, where the charges are held by the prosecution to prove your guilt, under VC 12500 (a), the charges are owned by you, to prove that you had a license. If this is not an option, you should ask your attorney if you can postpone your case as long as possible, so you can get more time to get a license. If you are not a repeat offender, most prosecutors allow you time to do so.
DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE - California Vehicle Code 12500 (a) VC
If you know that your license has been suspended or revoked, but you continue to circulate the streets of California, you are also violating Vehicle Code 14601 and could face more significant penalties, depending in the first place on why your license was suspended or revoked.
If your license was suspended or revoked because you were found guilty of negligent or reckless driving , or a court found you incompetent to drive due to a mental or physical disability. Then you may face the following penalties:
As you are a first time offenderYou can be sentenced to serve time in prison anywhere from five days to six months. You may also face a penalty of $ 300- $ 1000.
You may be considered a multiple violator if you have been convicted of violating any of the following sections of the California vehicle code: 14601, 14601.1, 14601.2 or 14601.5. As a multiple offender, you can face prison time ranging from 10 days to one year. You may also face monetary penalties of $ 500 up to $ 2000.
California Vehicle Code 12500 (a) VC- Effects on the Hispanic Population
Sobriety Checkpoints have been used as a way to recognize unlicensed drivers and to confiscate their cars. Many of the citations made under vehicle code 12500 (a) take place at these sobriety checkpoints.
According to a 2010 report by the "Center for Investigative reporting"; sobriety checkpoints often take place in or near Hispanic neighborhoods. Inhabitants of geographic areas with a predominantly Hispanic population have their cars seized at three times the rate of cities with comparatively smaller minority populations.
Between 2007 and 2009, the percentage of vehicle seizures increased statewide by 53%.
The number of vehicles confiscated at sobriety checkpoints in 2009 exceeded the number of arrests of drunk drivers made at these checkpoints at a rate of 7: 1
If you do not have a warm California driver's license, avoid driving and take advantage of the public transportation system.
If you are guilty of violating California vehicle code 12500 (a) and are interested in a free legal consultation, please contact us today. We offer consultations at no cost at our facility or by telephone.
California Vehicle Code Information
California Vehicle Code Section 12951 VC
12951. (a)The licensee must have a valid driving license, issued to him / her with immediate possession at all times when driving a motor vehicle on the road. Any charge made under this subdivision will be dismissed when the accused person presents in court a license that is issued to them and is valid at the time of their arrest, except that in a third or subsequent charge the court in its discretion may dismiss it. The charge. When a temporary, provisional, or duplicate license is filed with the court, the charges will not be dismissed unless the court has proof provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles stating that the temporary, provisional, or duplicate license was issued earlier. of arrest,
(b) The driver of a motor vehicle must present his license when a police officer demands to do some type of examination. This, in order to enforce the provisions of this code.
California Vehicle Code - Section 12500 VC
12500 (a) A person may not drive a motor vehicle on the highway unless the person has a valid valid driving license issued under this code, except those persons who are expressly exempt under this code.
12500 (b) A person may not ride a motorcycle on a highway unless the person carries a valid driver's license or endorsement, issued under this code for that particular class, except those persons who are expressly exempt under this code, or persons specifically authorized to operate motorized bicycles or motorized scooters with a valid license for this driving class, as specified in subdivision (h) of section 12804.9
12500 (c)a person may not drive a motor vehicle in or near any off-street parking facility, unless the person carries a valid driving license of a certain class or certification to operate the vehicle . As previously mentioned in this subdivision, "offstreet parking facility" means a facility that is located on the street and is open for public use for vehicle parking and includes public and private facilities for street parking, where there is no charge for parking and where it is kept open for public use or use by retail clients.
12500 (d) A person may not drive a motor vehicle or a combination of vehicles that are not of the type for which the person is licensed.
12500 (e) A motorized scooter operated on public roads shall at all times be equipped with an engine that meets the emissions requirements of the applicable State Air Resources Board.
California Vehicle Code - Section 14601 VC
14601. (a)A person may not drive, at any time, a motor vehicle when he has the right to drive suspended or revoked due to careless driving, as there would be a violation of section 23103, 23104, or 23105, any reason that has been mentioned in subdivision (a) or (c) of section 12806 authorizes the department to refuse to issue a license, negligent or incompetent operations performed with a motor vehicle as prescribed in subdivision (e) of section 12809, or operation negligent as prescribed in section 12810.5, if the person driving is aware of the suspension or revocation. Knowledge will be conclusively presumed if notification by mail has been given by the department to the person pursuant to Section 13106.
(b) A person convicted under this section may be sanctioned in the following ways: (1) After a first conviction, there may be time in county prison for not less than 5 days or more than 6 months and with a fine of not less $ 300 or more than $ 1000 (2) If the offense occurred within 5 years prior to a prior crime that resulted in a conviction for violation of this section, or sections 14601.1, 14601.2, or 14601.5, with a prison term of imprisonment of the county for not less than 10 days or more than one year and with a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($ 500) or more than two thousand dollars ($ 2,000).
(c)If the offense occurred within five years of a previous offense, which resulted in a conviction for a violation of this section or sections 14601.1, 14601.2, or 14601.5, and you are granted probation, the court will impose as a condition probation that the person be confined in a county jail for at least 10 days.
(d) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle, which is appropriate or used by the person's employer, during the course of employment on private property that is appropriate or used by the employer, except a offstreet parking, as defined in subdivision (c) of section 12500.
(e)When the prosecution agrees to a guilty plea or I will not contest a charge of violation of this section in the satisfaction of, or as a substitute for, an original charge of a violation of Section 14601.2, and the court accepts this ground, except, in the interest of justice, when the court finds it would be inappropriate, the court pursuant to Section 23575 requires the convicted person, in addition to other requirements, to install an breathalyser on any vehicle that they own or operate for a period not exceeding three years.
(F) This section also applies to the operation of an off-road motor vehicle in territory where the Chappie-Z'berg Act of 1971 on off-road motor vehicles Division 16.5 (beginning with Section 38000) applies to motorized off-road vehicles. road, as described in section 38001.